Here we go…..

Three years ago, my son Matthew made the transition from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. We chose to be a part of Troop 945 in Damascus Maryland. Troop 945 is a big Troop with almost 60 boys. From the start, both Matthew and I really enjoyed being part of the Troop. Here we are three years later, Matthew is almost a Life Scout, I am going to be the next Scoutmaster of the Troop, and we are both heading to the Philmont Scout Ranch in the summer of 2011.

This blog is meant to document our preparation for Philmont.  I will be discussing gear, exercising, logistics, and the overall preparations that will be needed to get me, Matthew, and the crew ready for the Scouting trip of a lifetime.

Once that challenge is complete, I will continue to blog about Scouting in the great outdoors.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment